LDF victory



Thiruvanathapuram: By-elections held for the local self-government bodies in Kerala, during the turbulent times of high decibel antigovernment campaign unleashed by Sanghparivar outfits over the Supreme Court's verdict which allowed the entry of women from all age group, LDF has registered an emphatic victory in all districts. By-elections were held for 39 local bodies in 14 districts. LDF has won 21 seats while the UDF finished a distant second with just 11 seats. BJP and SDPI have bagged two seats each. Two independent candidates and a Kerala Congress Candidate have also been emerged victorious. Kerala Congress candidate defeated UDF candidate. LDF candidates wrested five sittings seats of UDF and one seat from BJP. Two seats won by BJP in Alalappuzha were the sitting seats of UDF. SDPI won both seats in Idukki.  

In Thrissur district, all five wards in different panchayats were won by LDF. The front retained four and wrested one seat from BJP. In Ernakulam district, LDF won all five seats in which three were wrested from UDF and two were retained. A vigorous contest held in 49th ward in Thripunithura Municipality, LDF candidate K J Joshi defeated his nearest BJP rival by a margin of 450 votes. This election was necessitated due to the death of Congress councilor. Congress finished third. The BJP state leaders were keep on arguing that no CPIM candidates would win in this Municipality.  In Kannur district LDF and UDF won their sitting seats and in Kasargode LDF retained both seats where elections were held.

In majority of ward, the vote share of LDF has considerably increased though a tacit understanding between UDF and BJP is prevailing. Margin of winning LDF candidates have also been increased significantly. In many seats UDF-BJP alliance campaigned publicly. SDPI also had lent a helping hand to this unholy alliance. BJP and SDPI did not field candidate in order to help UDF.

The by elections held after LDF came in to power two and a half years back, LDF is continuing its winning spree. 13 sets of by elections held so far. These elections held when Congress and BJP were hand in glove in the violent agitation over the Supreme Court Verdict on Sabarimala. Congress has openly supported and justified BJP's violent protests in the pretext of Namajapam in order to so called "Save Sabrimala" campaign. Many Congress leaders addressed the BJP meetings all across the state. Raman Nair, Senior Congress leader and former Travancore devaswom Board Chairman, has joined BJP recently. Vijayan Thomas, Former Chairman of Congress owned Jaihind TV has started consultations with BJP central leadership. Recently KPCC executive member P M Niyas addressed a meeting organised by BJP in Kozhikode. 


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player



27th December, 2015 towards Red Brigade

Huge rally by CPIM in Kolkata at Brigade Parade Ground on Sunday on 27th December, 2015.

More slideshow

Assembly General Election

Assembly General Election